Holy Hamstring Awesomeness

Is awesomeness a word? If it doesn’t come up in spell check, I think so!

So if you read this blog, you may have caught on to the fact that I am pregnant. It’s funny being pregnant in many ways, but it is really funny to see people’s reactions when you tell them that yes, you are still working out. Not only are you working out, but you are teaching classes. For some, a look of horror spreads on to their faces. For others, pure amazement.

I’m not going to get in to all my thoughts on pregnancy and fitness this morning. It’s too early. Currently it’s 5:25AM and I just figure that is way too early to write a post full of deep musings. I just stopped by to let you know in my best 16-year old voice that, “OMG! My hamstrings are like so totally sore!”

I had a pretty good workout on Tuesday with my training group. Lots of arms and legs. Pretty sure the deadlifts and kettlebell swings is what did the first number on my hammies. Then I taught bootcamp on Wednesday. Bootcamp is pretty easy to teach and not actually DO the class. I did do one little part of the workout with the class though. Sally. She’s a killer. She definitely contributed to my holy hamstring condition.

Yeah, you may remember Sally from my other post. She made a visit to my spin class too. I didn’t really realize just how sore my hamstrings were until after teaching spin last night. I brought my leg up to the bike to stretch it out and OH MAMA!!! That leg did not want to stretch. Time to bring out the big dogs. AKA: The foam roller.

It actually feels good to be sore. I feel like it’s been forever since I’ve had some serious soreness. Since I’m pregnant and a delicate flower and all…I have really cut back on my intensity. Less intensity = less soreness. I’m really a person who likes to push it (push it real good! Holla for Salt N’Peppa if ya with me!), so taking it a bit easier is really tough on the old ego.

Anyways, I just wanted you to know that I’m sore. Send chocolate. There is protein in chocolate, right???

Hope you all (all two of you, hi Dad & Bess) have a great weekend. Oh! And here’s a little somethin’ somethin’ for ya to remember on this fine Friday…

awesome

You can remember this when you are hemming and hawing over whether or not you want to give Sally a try. C’mon, you know you want to experience the holy hamstring awesomeness too!!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Work Outs

Leave a comment